Little Indie blog

A little blog about indie stuff

  1. Philadelphia-based Sam Cook-Parrott's Radiator Hospital project releases new album 'Play The Songs You Like' on October 20 via Salinas Records - the follow-up to 2014’s 'Torch Song'.

    You can check out its warmly emotional lead single 'Dance Number' above in Catherine Elicson's video.

    Protected by Copyscape

  2. Album

    The Sherlocks

    Live For The Moment

    August 18 2017 (Infectious Records)


    Words: Richard Cobb

    The Bolton upon Dearne band's debut album opens with ‘Will You Be There?’ and it's the guitar and drums that hit you immediately, along with Kiaran Crook's instantly recognisable voice, largely down to the fact he sounds very like Liam Fray. It’s hard not to feel sorry for the drums on this track as they’re taking an almighty battering for the duration. Very strong opener though, and it sounds as though it would be a triumphant t-shirt swirling and beer or flare throwing moment at their live shows.

    ‘Live For The Moment’, the band’s first single which was originally released way back in 2014 (along with being recently re-released), showcases them at their best and they pour all of their built-up energy and confidence into this memorable track. Around three quarters of the way through a lost piano line leads you down an unexpected path, before the band pitch in again with another controlled explosion of noise.

    ‘Escapade’ has a heavily distorted bass line intro, alongside a welcome addition of what sounds like a belligerent cow bell that’s rebelling against its birth sound. Early highlight of the album ‘Chasing Shadows’ is very colourful. If fairgrounds up and down the country didn’t insist on blaring out nauseating dance music in between a guy with a needlessly antagonizing voice that makes you want to throw up candyfloss on the Waltzers, this would act a wonderful alternative.

    By the time ‘Blue’ rocks up, it’s all becoming a bit uncomfortably similar and I can’t help feeling that I’ve heard it all before. The line“Nothing’s changed / it’s all the same”,rather ironically stood out for me as I was typing this. Penultimate song ‘Motions’ fills me with fear at the start. It’s reminiscent of that time at a party when someone brings the dreaded acoustic guitar out at stupid o’clock in the morning and suddenly everyone simultaneously downs their drink and makes a run for it in the direction of the nearest door. It picks up though and evolves into a nice thoughtful and upbeat folk-infused song, with help from the marching band vibe keeping the song moving forward.

    With last track ‘Candlelight’ there's a strong finish from the band and with the added string section at the end, it definitely has big ideas, which would make for a cracker of a set closer live. Without doubt, the peaks of this album are the snappy earlier numbers along with the well-crafted last two tracks. I hate to use the words “filler tracks” but there’s a few too many on here which detract from a strong five or six

    That said, I’m sure diehard fans of guitar music will love this album. If this was 10 years ago, I would have no doubt played this album to death. If you’re looking for something fresh and exciting though, ‘Live For The Moment’ doesn’t really bring anything new to the guitar band table, a table which sadly many have long since vacated.

    Protected by Copyscape

  3. Credit: Bryony Williams

    Words: Sam Geary

    Don't expect a barrel of pop frivolity with Semantics. The title of this cut, 'Acid Test', accompanied by a dark and moody black-and-white video, sort of give a clue before you get any further.

    'Acid Test' is the first single from the Birmingham post-punk band's upcoming second EP of the same name, produced by Ryan Pinson and released on September 9.

    Following last year's 'My Detainer' and 'Games', this latest treads the same brooding path as its predecessors, giving vocalist Rob Lilley a vehicle in which to drive his downcast voice, against disturbingly eerie guitars.

    Protected by Copyscape

  4. Words: Sam Geary

    Ex-Cheatahs vocalist Nathan Hewitt has returned after leaving the band early last year, under the name Hypnotic Kingdom, and just dropped his first track - ‘Would You Be There For Me?’

    Released at the end of July, the self-recorded song has a refreshing melodic ease, helmed by the familiar vocals of Londoner Hewitt over a catchy beat and guitars, and later harmonies adding a dreamy edge.

    Protected by Copyscape

  5. Words: Leah Raymond

    Premiered by Dave Monks on BBC Introducing Merseyside earlier in the week, Liverpool's own, HAARM, return with their latest slice of indie pop finesse on new single ‘Valentine’.

    Sharp and shimmering, who cares if it's August and not February when you get a ‘Valentine’ this good!

    Protected by Copyscape